backwards osx on windows 7..... my stupidity

Reaction score
Alright the other day i decided to format my mac and go strictly windows 7...... now i am regretting the decision and would like to reinstall osx onto my unibody mac book pro. I have tried using the windows disc management tool to partition my hdd and format the partition to fat32, but when i try to install os x (booting off the disc) i can see the fat32 partition but can not format it to Journaled.... please advise. I need windows for school but need osx for my laptop to last more than 45 min on battery please help. :D

Thanks-
Mohan

Reaction score
From what I can understand, you need OSX to be installed in the primary partition of the HDD for it to boot up. I am not very technical, but if you can change the disk priority, probably can be done.

I guess what you can do is clone your windows partition with HDclone or any other cloning software into an external drive, reinstall mac osx on the internal drive, repartition using bootcamp and then clone the windows partition back into the bootcamp partition. I know you can do it with HDclone but not sure if it will work with others.

OP
M
Reaction score
From what I can understand, you need OSX to be installed in the primary partition of the HDD for it to boot up. I am not very technical, but if you can change the disk priority, probably can be done.

I guess what you can do is clone your windows partition with HDclone or any other cloning software into an external drive, reinstall mac osx on the internal drive, repartition using bootcamp and then clone the windows partition back into the bootcamp partition. I know you can do it with HDclone but not sure if it will work with others.

Im not trying to make it my primary boot os. I just want to install it so i cant choose to boot os x if i need to use it. I really hope there is an easier way to do this because im way to lazy to go through all that.....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs