Blue & White G3, keyboard stops working after random time, weird symptoms

Reaction score
Hello, people!

I recently got my hands around an old Power Macintosh G3, with no keyboard.

I managed to get a brand new USB keyboard working with it, but after some random amount of time (It has been as little as 5 minutes after boot, as much as 5 hours), the OS stops responding to the keyboard, any key, and it starts flashing the three keyboard LEDs, twice each time, at a set interval.

I could not isolate a cause to the problem, so at this point it isn't reproducible.

I am new to the Mac world, so I don't know if this is some kind of known issue. I couldn't find references on the Internet.

Any thoughts?

Thank you all in advance :)

edit: I forgot to mention that it runs OS X 10.4

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini 14.3, 8.1 & 4.1, OS 13.5, 10.14, & 10.11 & 10.6; Macbook Pro 8.2, OS 10.12.
[I have a similar setup/situation, seldom used these days.]

First, what OS are you using on the G3? They were issued originally with OS 8.5, but will cope with Panther (10.3.x), perhaps Tiger (10.4.x). If you're using OS 9, there are known issues with USB.

When you first started using the keyboard, were you prompted through the setup process, eg. "press the following keys ....."?

OP
A
Reaction score
I am running OS 10.4 on the G3. According to Wikipedia[1], they can handle up to 10.4.11. I don't know if that information is reliable.

I got the computer with the software already installed, matter of fact I've never installed OS X before. Albeit extremely slow, it appears to be running correctly.

The first attempt I made to use a keyboard was with an adapter that turns one USB port in two PS/2. The computer would show the "Press the key to the right of your Shift" message but wouldn't recognize the keypress.