Windows 7 on 27" iMac : Black Screen

Reaction score
Hello!

After several enlightening hours spent exploring the forum, I didn't find a solution to my problem, so let's start a new topic explaining my situation :

I've had a 20" iMac for 2 years with a Dual Boot Mac OS X / Windows XP, and was very happy with it.
I bought a few days ago the new 27" iMac as I couldn't resist the huge beautiful screen. But I still need Windows for several activities. So I thought about installing Windows 7.
Being a student, I took advantage of this offer : Microsoft Student - Windows 7 .

Problem : It doesn't gives an install disk, but only a download of an update that allows to "upgrade" Windows XP or Vista to Windows 7.
So it seemed to me I had no choice but to install Win XP or Vista with Bootcamp, and then upgrade it to Windows 7.

I have legal versions of Windows XP, so I installed it on the iMac with Bootcamp. All went fine. Then I downloaded the upgrade, and the upgrade assistant to Windows 7, with no worries. But when I started the Windows 7 install, the following happened : The first steps went fine (Copy of Windows files, Decompression of Windows files, Install of fonctions, Install of updates), but at the last step called End of install, I just had a black screen.

I let it run for a while, nothing happened. So I rebooted, and after the Windows logo I had a black screen again.

I cannot start the safe mode with F8 because the install has not been completed. And still with F8, starting in a low resolution doesn't help.

So at this point I'm a little lost, and would be very grateful of any idea that could help making things advance. Thanks :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
My brother had the exact same problem with his 27" iMac. After doing a bit of searching, here is the solution to your problem

One change, in step 6, replace NVLDDMKM.SYS with ATIKMDAG.SYS

OP
R
Reaction score