Setting up home web server using OS X Server 10.6

Reaction score
I'm currently trying to set up a home web server using OS X Server 10.6, but I have no experience with things like this, so I'm a bit stuck. I've bought the OS X Server software, and a Static domain from my ISP (which I read I'd need).

Next I need to register a domain name, but I'm not sure how to make this work with OS X Server. I'd also like to be able to use the server to host e-mail accounts (e.g. [email protected]) and need to know how to do this.

So... how do I need to install and set up OS X Server to work as a web server (like that of a hosting company), with e-mail support? Please help if you can, as this is really frustrating me :Grimmace:

Thanks in advance,
Angus Fretwell.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
You have opened a can of worms for your self.

First, most ISPs state in their agreements that they do not allow you to run services such as web servers and mail servers. They tend to block port numbers important to such services. There may be some tricks around this, but they are hassles at best.

Buying a domain is easy. Check out Godaddy, EasyDNS, or the other million registers out there. Setting up the DNS entry to find your fixed IP address is pretty easy and those sites should have instructions. Mail may have some extra issues and you have to be careful with it so that the bad guys don't use it as a forwarding service.

You should probably start by reading "Mac OSX Server v10.6 Getting Started". Searching Apple's site came up with several other documents of interest.

Reaction score
Your going to need a couple of things.

1. You need to assign the Static IP they gave you to your computer.

2. You need to go to a site like dyndns.com and register the ip address.

3. You need to add the websites to your server and make the changes at the domain register.