169 IP/No connection?

Reaction score
I recently reinstalled my OS on my Macbook, and now it will only connect when it is without security. I have tried both WEP and WPA configurations, and it won't connect with either. I have a 2WIRE modem/router, and they say that I need to figure out why I can only connect without encryption, which according to the guy would be an Apple problem.

On the WEP configuration, it shows that I am connecting, but the IP address begins with 169 which is apparently a problem.

I have contacted both the ISP and 2WIRE support without any real answers. I'm pretty new to Mac and pretty stupid about all the settings stuff. Any help is appreciated!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Not that i will be much help to you but there are a number of Forum threads that say it is a good idea to forget WEP - it is not secure and being used less and less these days. Now u might have to do a bit of google ing on 2 wire as i have read of difficulties with those units and it would need somebody conversant with them to advise you and that is not me.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacbookPro 15.4, 2.2ghz i7 (Late 2011), Macbook 1,1 1.83ghz CoreDuo
I have a small WEP2 key on my wireless network , but i have MAC Address Filtering enabled. Takes a little while to get all the MAC Address' typed into the router, but its well worth it, NOONE can get into my network. Pretty secure in my book. Besides that, i have my SSID not broadcasting either.

I feel pretty safe.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I have a small WEP2 key on my wireless network , but i have MAC Address Filtering enabled. Takes a little while to get all the MAC Address' typed into the router, but its well worth it, NOONE can get into my network. Pretty secure in my book. Besides that, i have my SSID not broadcasting either.

I feel pretty safe.