Thinking of going MacBook

Reaction score
Hi I'm after a new laptop and I'm thinking of going Mac but could use some advice. I've never used a Mac before but have used Windows for a very long time. However I'm sick of the constant hassle it brings so a simple Mac sounds great, but I'm not sure.

I'm a big gamer including playing wow, how does the clicking system work and differ - is it true there's no right/left click system or something?
The Mac I'm looking at has 2.53ghz but for an additional £300 I can get 2.6, is it worth the upgrade will I notice the different gaming?
Are macs easy to pick up or confusing, will I have a hard time switching.

Apreciate any help or advice that could be given.

Thanks,
Krosoft.

T

todd51

If your a big gamer, then switching to a Mac would probably not be the best idea. If you mainly just play WoW, then that's perfectly fine. I'm sure some others will tell you to just load Bootcamp on there and play your games through Windows (which you can), but I wouldn't rely on great graphics with the Macbook. If your wanting to do more gaming, I would probably go with an iMac or a Macbook Pro for the better graphics card. I would be more concerned with the graphics card for gaming, rather than the CPU speed as you had asked.

The OS is very easy to learn, I used a Windows PC for a LONG time and switched to Mac. Obviously you won't pick everything up in one day, but you can learn a lot by surfing the Internet and searching these forums. Most of the main "switcher" questions have come up before on here.

There is a right click on a Mac trackpad, but only one physical button. If you put two fingers on the trackpad (as opposed to just one) and click, it will act as a right click. You could also just hook up any old USB mouse and have a left and right click, which is what most people do.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB