VPN to Windows network

Reaction score
I know this has been discussed before, but I still cannot completely connect an iMac, running OS X version 10.4.11, to a Windows VPN. I say completely, because internet connect says I am connected, but I cannot ping by IP. I receive a valid IP from the remote router, but I do not seem to receive a default gateway or a subnet mask. I am basically a noob to Mac's, so please be gentle. I'm sure everyone will have many different questions about my configuration, so feel free to ask.

Thanks in advance, for any help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP
are you running some kind of proprietary vpn client, like Cisco AnyConnect?

OP
B
Reaction score
Nope, we use the built in XP client...and no encryption.
I'm wondering if maybe I should be using some sort of Mac VPN client. What are your thoughts on that?

...and thanks for the reply...

Reaction score
Hm.. XP client? Sounds like you got a few things mixed up? You wrote your internet connection says you are connected - sure, but that doesn't have much to do with VPN.

How do you currently connect? I use VPN to connect to my work (Windows world) quite often and it works flawless.

To set-up VPN you obviously have to have an internet connection. Then, under "System Preferences" -> "Network" click on the plus ("+") sign in the lower left and choose VPN as interface. The rest of the settings depends on the VPN you are connecting to. You can then select to have the VPN status in the menu bar and simply use that to connect to your VPN.

So now that everything is set up you just have to be online, click on the VPN icon in your menu bar and select "Connect <your VPN connection name>". Once authorized you should be able to ping machines in the target VPN.

Hope that helps!

OP
B
Reaction score
dekan - thanks for the reply!