Can I install D-Link DIR-615 router for my mac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook
Hello all,

I'm new at this, but I just had the cable guy come and install my cable internet and modem. He sold me a wireless router (Dlink DIR 615), but I don't know how to install it on my mac. Its supposed to auto launch the install when I put the CD in, but nothing happens. I have a Macbook and I'm running 10.5.8 on it. Is there anyway for me to set up and install this router?!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Not a very helpful cable guy - sells you a router and then doesn't set it up for you. :Angry:

Did he leave you the box with the setup book and instructions? User guide?

Anyway, here's a LINK to the DIR 615 user's guide and setup instructions. Read through it. Make sure you have an ethernet cable attached from the router to your computer before you start the wireless setup.

If you have any questions about DNS settings and so forth, you'll have to address those to your ISP.

Regards.

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook
I can get wireless, but not secured

Thank you for your reply. I can plug in the router and it does provide wireless internet that I can use. But it is not secured. Without being able to use the install disk, I don't know how to place a password on the wireless. Is there anything I can do for that? The pdf. you linked to me shows that this router and software should work with Mac, but it doesn't.
Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch MacBook Pro
Open your web browser and go to 192.168.0.1 and log in with Admin and blank password. Does that work?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE