Snow Leopard Upgrade DVD or Boxset Query

Reaction score
Hi,

I have tried looking online and on apples website for the answer to this question but i can't find a simple yesor no answer.

I basically want to whipe the HD completely and perform a clean vanilla install of Snow leopard. Now, can this be done with the upgrade DVD at £25 or do ineed to buy the boxset at £129.

Soe people seems to say if you by the upgrade, you need toinstall leopard first, then do the upgrade to snow leopard whcih isn't what i want to do. I'veeven looked at some utube videos and they also say this as well.

many thans in advance, i simply want to install Snow leopard without needing any other version of Mac OS installed or need to isert the Disc for it to recognise it etc before hand. I'm relatively new to Macs so my mac mini at the moment holds no data i need to keep, it is basicalyl a bog stadard install of 10.5 and i've just been playing arouodn with it getting used to where thngs are etc so no data to keep whatsoever.

Many thanks

Kevin

Reaction score
Hey,

Firstly, I'm not exactly sure how the upgrade Snow Leopard Disc can be £25. I purchased the "Up-To-Date" DVD from the apple site for about $10 dollars, whereas the retail price at the apple store came out to be roughly $35. I believe the boxset allows you to install snow leopard for up to 5 computers so I don't think you'll be needing that...unless of course you do have 5 macs.

Now to answer your question, you CANNOT perform a clean install with the "up-to-date" dvd. You would have to install leopard first, then use the up-to-date dvd. If you want to perform a clean install, you will need to purchase the retail version from the apple store. I originally purchased the up-to-date dvd and didn't like the fact that I couldn't perform a clean install without having to install leopard first.

OP
K
Reaction score
Thanks for your reply.. here are the links..

Upgrade DVD:-
Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard - Apple Store (U.K.)