Which G3 processor is appropriate for word proc. and web browsing?

Y

Yeago

Hey there,

In the market for a used G3, but I have no experience with them--I don't want to buy more than I need because I am a starving student.

At any rate, I am shopping on eBay; does anyone know of a better place to get them?

Obviously, I need something that's going to be reliable.

-Steve

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Yeago said:
Hey there,

In the market for a used G3, but I have no experience with them--I don't want to buy more than I need because I am a starving student.

At any rate, I am shopping on eBay; does anyone know of a better place to get them?

Obviously, I need something that's going to be reliable.

-Steve
If all you are planning to do is web browsing and word processing, then pretty much any G3 will do. eBay is good, just be careful to check the feedback of the seller...not just the number, but the feedback itself. You can also catch a good deal at Secondhand Mac every now and then. You should be able to pick up a G3 iMac for under $100. If you pay any more than that for a G3 iMac, you are spending too much in my opinion.

Oh, and you want to be sure to have at least 256 MB RAM installed. If you can install even more it would be better. The G3's really benefit from more RAM, especially if you are planning on running OS X on it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod