G5 dissapointment

T

TripSta

I was quite upset to find my new G5 was not compatible with my £20k recording studio. Ive been using mac for about 6-7 years. Now at the point where I have a band and 16 songs to record, I find:
a. the PCI card that connects to the 24 in out inteface, doesnt fit in the new g5!!
b. The 8 in 8out midi interface cant connect, cause theres no serial.

To fix the problem, its gonna cost my about £500 !! in extra stuff.

Now I undersatnd that sometimes to move on in technology, we have to leave somethings behind, but....

This is a £1500 computer, larger than my first mac and larger than my first 486!!!! Theres enough room in there to add an old pci slot or converter and a serial - usb adapter of some sort.

Im not impressed where apples heading. Years ago, apple was cool, slighly underground, now they are main stream commercial profit makers, with no regard to existing users.
:mad:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2
Well to be perfectly honest, I'm sure a quick call to Apple beforehand would have enabled you to find out if your existing devices are compatible.

Sure it's possible for apple to include the adapters you're talking about, but most users wouldn't have any need for them and would be annoyed that they have to pay for them as well.
Even worse an old Pci slot might even reduce expandability which might not seem like an issue now, but could limit your machine a few years down the road.

IMO if you are a recording studio professional, and are dependent on this equipment for your livelyhood, you should either spend more time researching them beforehand (which is time-consuming and probably difficult when you're working under a tight schedule) or get professional advice from your local mac dealer or from apple directly...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro & 23" ACD