Does OSX Slow Down?

Reaction score
Perhaps this is the wrong forum to post this question. I have recently moved from winxp to Linux because I got fed up with the continuous cycle of rebuild, slow down, crawl of the winxp OS. It seems no matter what you do to a win machine it will eventually get slower and slower, boot times, launching apps, etc. Linux claims not to suffer from this and in my 12 months experience it does what is says on the box - it runs like a dream. My mother-in-law has recently purchased a mini mac, son a Powerbook and a friend has asked advice on a new laptop because their current machine (winxp based) is now crawling along! I feel like advising my friend to move to mac/OSX but I have no long term experience - does mac/OSX suffer slow down over time as per windows machines?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
the quick answer is NO!
....assuming you keep it clear of clutter, and leave plenty of room on your HD, etc, it just keeps on purring along.
Keep in mind, as good as a mac is, just like a good car, maintenance and occasional trouble shooting is part of the deal :)

As for your friend, there are many mac models and configurations to choose from, so do the research (work, music, gaming, etc.... what are the requirements?).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch MacBook Pro
This is a tricky question. I think the user is the reason most machines need to be rebuilt. Period. I have had a Windows machine run like a top for years. I have seen pals screw up a fresh Windows install in minutes. The nature of Linux and OS X makes them more resilient to this type of thing. That being said - I have seen people blow them up as well.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)