Powerbook g4 updgrade question

Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to Mac's and recently my sister gave me her old mac powerbook g4 15inch. I replaced the hard drive and upgraded the RAM to 2gb. The issue however....i reinstalled the cd's it came with which was mac os x 10.3, and I was looking to purchase Leopard (10.5) and I was just wondering that if I purchase 10.5 that I could just install it over the old version 10.3 without having to upgrade to 10.4 first. The laptop meets all the hardware requirements for installation of 10.5, I just want to make sure I will not have a problem if i install it over 10.3. Thank you for you help!

Reaction score
I think Leopard is only to be used if you have Tiger installed.

Are you sure you'd want Leo on your PB, it's a heavy OS for a G4 CPU, even with the 2GB's.
And if you're going through with it... always back-up first.

Good luck

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Yes you can install 10.5 without having 10.4. But one of the requirements is that your computer have at least an 867mhz processor...you didn't mention what speed your Powerbook CPU is (although you did mention that your laptop meets the hardware requirements for 10.5).

Here's what Apple says as well:

Requirements for Mac OS X v10.5

But as Sur3Mac mentioned...depending on your Powerbook's CPU speed...10.5 may or may not be a performance improvement. But you will be able to take advantage of the improvements with 10.5 such as Time Machine...among other enhancements.

Hope this helps,

- Nick

Reaction score
I'd create a bootable clone via CCC, and make sure it works.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day matty and welcome to the forums.

As Nick has advised, it all depends on the speed of your G4 and G4's if above the 1GHz mark will run Leopard very nicely with your memory, and you do not have to install Tiger first.