Running Tiger/Leopard-only software in Snow Leopard?

Reaction score
Backstory: I bought a brand-new 13" MacBook Pro a few days ago for school. I also bought a statistics suite for OS X, but didn't read the fine print that it runs only in Tiger and Leopard (I'm new to Macs, figured as long as OS X was up there, I'd be fine). The online store claims absolutely no refunds, so I need to make it work in Snow Leopard ($200 is a lot of money to a student!).

Problem: Installer won't open. I double click, it pops up for 5 seconds, and closes without any error or notice.

Options/Solutions:
- I called Apple, they claim I cannot downgrade a MBP that shipped with Snow Leopard to Leopard. Is this true?
- I've searched for an Tiger/Leopard emulator that runs in Snow Leopard, all I seem to find is Windows-based OS X emulators. Any suggestions?
- I've installed Rosetta from the OS X DVD, chosen to run the installer with Rosetta (in the info). No dice.

Suggestions?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Rosetta is only meant to allow you the ability to run software written for PPC Macs.

What statistics software package is this?

OP
D
Reaction score
Yeah, I realized that shortly after I posted.

It's called SPSS, a suite that comes with that and a number of other stats packages.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Backstory: I bought a brand-new 13" MacBook Pro a few days ago for school. I also bought a statistics suite for OS X, but didn't read the fine print that it runs only in Tiger and Leopard (I'm new to Macs, figured as long as OS X was up there, I'd be fine). The online store claims absolutely no refunds, so I need to make it work in Snow Leopard ($200 is a lot of money to a student!).

Problem: Installer won't open. I double click, it pops up for 5 seconds, and closes without any error or notice.

Options/Solutions: