Energy preferences. The option I can't find?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
OSX 10.6.1, 2.53ghz Intel 2 Duo Core, 4GB Ram 1067MHz DDR3, 250gb HDD
This is my first macbook and I am impressed to say the least. The one thing that bothers me is that when I close the screen, the computer goes into sleep mode.

After browsing the energy preferences there seems to be no way to change this.

I would like to be able to close the screen on my macbook pro and have the notebook still running (ie torrent programs running in the background while saving the screen and darkening my room so I can sleep more soundly)

Thanks,

Mike
MP Consultation

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks for the info brother! I build computers for a living but I am beyond impressed with my mac book for its usability, portability and battery life.

The graphics and speed are not too shabby either

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I would like to be able to close the screen on my macbook pro and have the notebook still running (ie torrent programs running in the background while saving the screen and darkening my room so I can sleep more soundly)

If "InsomniaX" doesn't do the job for you...you could always go the low tech route...leaving your MacBook's display open and:

- covering the display with a t-shirt
- lay a piece of cardboard over the screen to block the light
- put your laptop in another room other than your bedroom (assuming where you live has more than one room)

HTH,:)

- Nick

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Its just this room and the kitchen, Studio apartment. If that app doesn't work, I'll just turn the brightness all the way down. Don't know why I didn't think of that in the first place

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
Glad I could help and be followed up with a bit of sit down comedy :)

OP
M
Reaction score