I bought a new iMac 24" today!!

Reaction score
Hello all!! I'm officially an apple fanboy! :Evil:

Anyway I purchased a brand new 24" iMac 2.66 today! It's my very first mac and I'm still learning how to use a brand new operating system. Anyway I have a few questions:

1) What is the easiest way to maximize a window? Like iTunes or MS Word
2) How do I right click? Sometimes I want to save an image etc.
3) Are there any "My Documents" or "My Music" folders like on Windows. Right now I'm not exactly sure where my saved docs are going.

Thats it for now. I'll continue reading the forum and visiting the apple support website for help as well. :)

Justin

Reaction score
... you should have wait .... there is a new one coming in less than 1 month ... :)

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
1. the green button at the top left side of the window - OS X has a different philosophy than windows - it only opens a window large enough for you to see what is there - does not open it full screen necessarily - to make it larger, drag the arrow in the bottom right corner of a window

2. Same as on a windows machine - have a mighty mouse?
To save an image from a web page - no need for right click, just click and drag the image to your desktop

3. Windows Explorer on your Mac is called Finder. You can open it by double clicking on the MacIntosh HD icon on your desktop. Or, by clicking on the icon at the far left side of the dock - the little square smiley face with the big nose

Stuff you download, will auto go into the downloads folder unless you change it - and sitting on the right hand side of the dock.

And congrats on the new toy - nice machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacbookPro 15.4, 2.2ghz i7 (Late 2011), Macbook 1,1 1.83ghz CoreDuo