Considering buying my 1st Mac - Question about 'WINE'

Reaction score
Hi there,

I've always bought PC's and the main reason not to switch to a mac was due to not being able to run my pc software on it. (I generally hate change so have been using old versions over newer versions of software).

I see from the 'sticky' thread that WINE is a way of running PC programs without using a partition or having to reboot etc to switch systems, but it says that not all software will work with it (as it's not actually windows).

Can anyone tell me if the following would work with WINE:

Dreamweaver 4, photoshop 5

I'm new to all this so I won't understand technical terms.

Thanks for your help :)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I can't tell you if either Dreamweaver or Photoshop will work with WINE, but they will work from a Windows VM. Parallels, Fusion, or even the free VirtualBox are good choices to run Windows in a virtual machine. No need for partitioning or rebooting.

Regards.

OP
T
Reaction score
I can't tell you if either Dreamweaver or Photoshop will work with WINE, but they will work from a Windows VM. Parallels, Fusion, or even the free VirtualBox are good choices to run Windows in a virtual machine. No need for partitioning or rebooting.

Regards.

Hey thanks. I'm not sure what any of that means or how I'd go about it, but it looks like it'll do what I'm after so I'll worry about doing once I get the Mac!! Thanks for your help.

Cheers :)

OP
T
Reaction score
Just thought of another question - would doing the above mean I would need to purchase a copy of Windows? If so would an OEM version do, or would it need to be the full version?

Just wondering as I'd need to take that into account in addition to the cost of buying the Mac. Starts getting pricey.

Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs