New user, First macbook pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" unibody, 2.53ghz, 4gb ram, 250 HDD, Snow+windows 7
So im new to Os x i just got my first macbook pro and im wondering if you guys could give me any tips on how i can make my OSx experience good. Im a very long time windows user i could go back as far as to windows 3.0 so thats almost 20 years of windows lol. so pretty much anything could be helpful. Im runing 10.6.1 if that helps

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Welcome aboard. Lots of info on this forum have a hunt round also have a sticky beak here and there are number of more specific help manuals here

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.6, 1TB Storage
Highlight a file: Pic, video, or document. Press space bar. Wheeeeee!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Yes, the preview function in Finder is incredibly helpful and easier than having to launch an application just to find out what the file is.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
Lots of good links placed here, but if you are wanting a good experience, you will as a long time windows user need to discard the quirky knowledge you've acquired using Windows. Mac OS X is not windows (and is in fact UNIX with a really slick GUI) so you need to 'give in' so to speak to the Mac way of doing things. What you will find that are common for former Windows users are:

There is no 'cut' for files in Finder. This is by design. It is safer to copy files over to where you want them then delete (move to trash) once you know they are safely where you want them.