Reduced battery life after battery calibration

Reaction score
I am new to Macs and one major reason I bought one for college was the great battery life of the 2009 MBP's. I was extremely pleased initially with the seven to eight hour* usage while browsing the internet using wireless and listening to music with headphones. Battery life is really important to me so decided to calibrate my battery after reading about regular battery maintenance. After I calibrated my batter, however, my maximum run time now is around 5.5 hours with no apps running. Rarely do I ever see the battery life display show 7+ hours anymore. My reduced battery life was noticed before my upgrade to 10.6.

*Battery times are taken from the battery life meter

Other battery life maintenance tips would be helpful too; for instance, I've heard conflicting arguments about leaving laptops charging overnight.

Thanks to anyone who can help

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz Core i7 - 32GB RAM - GTX 780< 4GB GPU
I ran into the same issue with my White MacBook (2.1GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD). I followed the Apple guidelines exactly.

Prior to the calibration (depending on what I was doing) It would show (and I believe I'd get) 4.5 to 5+ hours of battery life. After calibration it's usually less than 4 hours, 3.5 if I'm lucky, even when it's idle. ???

Reaction score
It was probably just mis-calibrated before and "thought" it contained more juice than it did.
So while the battery may 'appear worse' after calibration, it's not.

Regards...;D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" 2.26ghz Unibody Macbook Pro 2gb Ram