Speech to text program. Anything REALLY good?

Reaction score
I am new to Mac. Got my Macbook within 2 yrs. now, and taking some classes where I could benefit using a speech to text software. I seen the Mac Speech Dictation software at Apple but not totally convinced that it really is all they made it out to be. Any one have any feed back pros/ cons on this one or any other?
Thanks,
Mark

S

SpinningCompass

I hope that my response to your question is not too late to be useful.

MacSpeech in my opinion is excellent. My father, who suffers from carpal tunnel syndrome, recommended Dragon NaturallySpeaking to me. MacSpeech uses the Dragon engine and responds accurately and quickly to anything I have to say. :)

The Plantronics Calisto Pro headset is a blessing also. To use a Bluetooth headset with MacSpeech:-
1. Install Bluetooth device.
2. Use it as audio device when asked.
3. Start LineIn. Set LineIn(input)=Calisto PLT. Set LineOut to Soundflower (2ch). Push "Pass Thru".
4. Start SoundFlowerBed. Set input to Calisto PLT.
5. Start MacSpeech. "Make active".

(Please Google SoundFlowerBed and LineIn for the 'download' pages.)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
emac, G4 laptop, G5, imac 2.4Ghz intel duo,
Hi,

i am not a computer genius so maybe this affects my view.

best for mac:
dictate

best for windows pc
dragon naturally speaking

I have tried them all, viavoice for mac (awful), ilisten (awful) and then with the intro of boot camp, i set aside initially an insufficient amount of space 20gb and had to redo the whole thing later with 30 gb from memory. I had to buy vista and download a free anti-virus, which was my welcome back to windows. then i installed and dragon 9 preferred worked a treat. it learns easily and gets better. i updated to 10 and had some problems but it worked.