Couple of G4 questions

S

stugotz006

Hey everyone. I have one of the very first G4s made, the 350mhz model (PCI, I think) I got it in 1999 for graduation.

1.) It only has a CD reader, no burner.
When shopping for an internal one, I only find SCSI/IDE connectivity, which I don't think will work. Will it? The back of them look different than the drive in my machine. Am I missing something here? Do I have to spring for an external?

2.) As for upgrading my RAM, will any typoe of SDRAM work? In the manual it calls for PC100, unbuffered, 168 pin, “no more than 16 memory modules.” How important is the last part?

Any good links would be much appreciated. Sorry for the dumb questions, but I am mainly just a graphics guy with limited hardware knowledge. Thanks in advance!

-Stu

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Dual 1.8GHz Power Mac G5; 1GB SDRAM; 160GB Serial ATA; 20 inch Cinema Display
I cant really comment here as I am new to Macs.

I think however, you may need to use the same RAM that it calls for. Someone else may be able to help out in detail here.

IMO, no question is dumb. Just some comments are.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod
Macs can at times be a bit "picky" with RAM, so I would highly recommend that you purchase memory that completely meets Apple's stated requirements for your system. I personally only by my memory from sellers that test and guarantee 100% compatibility, so I can be certain it won't cause any problems in my machine.

OP
S

stugotz006

Thanks. What confuses me the most is what kind of G4 I really have. I found photos of the backs of the PCI and AGP machines, so I'll compare them when I get home (to the cpu in question) Of course the CD drive connects via IDE “ribbon” or whatever, but the back of mine is totally different than ones I see on tigerdirect for example. I will also take pics and post them tonight. Maybe you guys will know more from them.

-Stu

OP