Trouble Shooting - Frozen MBP/Chronic Crasher

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbookpro 15" unibody
Just moved back to mac from 5 yrs with a PC, and did it with the 15" unibody, 2.8ghz...loving it, though in the past week I've had it shut down on me a lot. The grey box "Hold down your power key....(in multiple languages)" shows up and I freak, and then I do a disk check and it says everything is fine.

Since I'm new to Mac(again) I've been testing all sorts of software hoping to find what I like, and using CleanApp to help with deleting things I don't like. I figure i have something I installed causing this and I was wondering is there anyway to see what might be triggering these freezes?

Safari seems to be shutting down a lot too, randomly(meaning I'm not even using it when it quits). I won't have Snow Leopard till the 15th of Sept(long story), at which point I'll probably do a clean install, though I would like to know if possible what is causing this. The other night the computer froze completely, except I was in a skype conversation that continued without a problem, as the screen pixelated.

I'm typing this now from Safari without a problem, just an FYI. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.33 4GB: MacPro 8 Core 2.8, 16GB: MacMini 2.26 4GB: MacMin 2.53 4GB: iPhone3GS 32GB
Hi, welcome to the forums, sorry your having some issues. From what you describe, it sounds like your are getting quite a few kernel panics.

First thing have a look at the following thread:

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/93819-basic-os-x-mac-troubleshooting.html

Next, I would consider running the hardware test that came with your MBP. This test will be on the second disk provided with your install disk set. Put the CD in, reboot telling the MBP to boot from the CD and run the test. You may want to run the extended/complete test just to be sure.