Does Replacing HD void warranty?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro, 2.26ghz, 2GB RAM; 17" IMAC G5, 160 GB HD, 2.5 GB RAM, built in iSight,
Hey All,

I just bought a brand new 13" MBP a couple weeks ago. I bought the lower end model with the 160 GB hard drive. I am already finding that I am running out of space fast and found some simple instructions online on how to replace the hard drive. Having worked on Dell laptops for years as a desktop support tech I am comfortable doing the swap out. My question is, would this void my Apple warranty? If so I might think about waiting for a while before doing the swap out to make sure none of my components fail within the first few months which is suppose to be the most likely time of a failure. Thanks in advance for the input.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Hard drive swap and memory upgrades are "do it yourself" and do not void the warranty on your new MBP. However, if you mess things up during the swap, the cost of repair is on you.

Regards.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook core 2 duo, 2 GHz, 2GB, 320GB HDD
you should think about using a external drive to back things if you dont want to open it up, plus the cost for a 1tb external 3.5 drive is half the cost of a 2.5 drive. whatever works for you, go for it..

OP
VTX1800
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro, 2.26ghz, 2GB RAM; 17" IMAC G5, 160 GB HD, 2.5 GB RAM, built in iSight,
Thanks for the responses. I'm happy to hear that it will not void my warranty. I do have a large external drive but I like to have everything when i'm on the go and an external drive is a pain. I think I'll throw a 500 gb internal drive in there. I think that will last me a while. ;D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13'' Macbook Pro 2.26 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB 1067 Mhz DDR3 500 GB 7200rpm HD