Ram or Disk Upgrade?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac, 2.8GHz i5, 4GB Ram, ATI Radeon HD 5750 w/ 1GB 1TB hard drive
Which is a better upgrade to purchase?

I'm looking at buying a 13" MacBook Pro with 2GB of ram and a 160GB/5400rpm drive. I can afford to upgrade one of these.

Do I upgrade from 2GB of ram to 4GB or do I upgrade from a 160GB/5400rpm drive to a 320GB/7200rpm or 500GB/5400rpm drive?

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Just by the stock MBP and upgrade the RAM and HDD yourself. 4GB of RAM cost around $70 and the HDD for a 320GB is around $75.

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
As a student, I don't have much money to spare - even after the student discount. Which would be more worthwhile upgrading?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP 15" / 2.6GHz / 16GB / 512GB
As a student, I don't have much money to spare - even after the student discount. Which would be more worthwhile upgrading?

Hey,

It depends on what you are going to do with the computer. If you are going to do work that require a large amount of storage then go for the hard drive. If not, go for RAM ...

What are you going to do mostly with the laptop?

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB

Hey,

It depends on what you are going to do with the computer. If you are going to do work that require a large amount of storage then go for the hard drive. If not, go for RAM ...

What are you going to do mostly with the laptop?

2GB of RAM is more than enough for everyday computing. IE. Listen to music, watching movies, surfing the web, light photoshop work, and word processing.

Also if you look closely if you wanted to add a bigger HD, apple charges you 90 dollars when you can save ~20 dollars by getting it from a third party vendor and installing yourself.