iweb alternative for more complex site?

Reaction score
Hi to all & thanks for any help you can provide.

I 'm looking for an application as easy as iweb to build my site with as I don't know how to write the codes for html. I have been introduced to joomla but compared to iweb, its a heavy drag.

iWeb is easy enough but I don't know how to get around 2 problems I can see at the front end:

Its not flexible enough... I intend to build a commercial site with a database, merchant/store/paypal (means to pay) & basically it will be a membership only website with a couple of free/public pages & then the content they are seeking (I am a consultant)... available after paying online for a membership.

The other big problem with using iweb is that: I want the videos I put up to be available to everyone... not just those with quicktime... so I intend to make it available in flv.

I really don't know if what I'm looking for even exists but I'd appreciate it if anyone could point me in the right direction.

Reaction score
Hi newtoallthis,

Your not going to like this much but here goes.
What you're looking for doesn't really exist. Tools like Joomla, Drupal and wordpress are really good at what they do but thye won't do that. I'd personally go for Wordpress as it's the easiest to set up and use.
Problem being is that what you're looking for in the database and payment gateway support isn't supported in any of these tools or anything like it. It's too specific.
These kind of features are generally hand coded or are using other tools specific to that task like foxy cart is a really easy to use cart system. You'll still need to know how to code in HTML and a bit of JavaScript.

To simplify what you need is a web developer. There isn't a great big button that says magic me up a site.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)