• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

experienced writer new to film

Reaction score
hey everyone at macforums. i'm an experienced writer (cartoons/comics, short stories, graphic novels, poetry) who wants to try his hand at film. i need help with basic questions about hardware and techniques. i have a talent for writing and a good eye for composition. i'm trying to put together a full length film shot in avchd (sonyy hdr-ux7) with a few special effects (nothing fancy) and multiple track audio. tight budget. 2 questions:

minimum suggested hardware/software? the film is going to be approx. 2 hours long with multiple audio tracks (voice input from mic's, soundtrack). what mac's will handle these requirements? does imovie offer enough options for someone who is serious about developing their skills, or is it mainly for the 'casual' user?