Is it worth it or shall I just sell?

Reaction score
Dead G4 Titanium powerbook

Right first let me say a few little things.

1] I am extremely new to the world of AppleMacs
2] I am even newer to this forum site.

So please forgive me if I am asking stuff that maybe a little basic.

My introduction to the applemac world came about approximately 10 days ago when someone kindly gave me a G4 (400Mhz) Tower which works beautifully. Then just yesterday (24th June) they gave me a 17" G4 powerbook and a 15" G4 Titanium powerbook (so if anyone thinks I am a lucky so and so I will agree with them).

Ok the problems (else why they give them away).

G4 17" works well and I have just reinstalled 10.4 and upgraded all the way to 10.4.11 only problem with this machine is the display is suffering from two vertical lines from top to bottom of display I have been reading about this and it appears that unless I am prepared to pay out for a repair chances are it will get worse slowly.

The real reason for this post is the dead G4 Titanium.
I know this is a fairly old one but other than knowing it has a 20gig hd and the yo yo power supply I have no other knowledge concerning it.
The problem is how can I check whether its the ps thats bad or its the machine. The battery is also totally dead-drained so cannot use that as a means of testing it. I have pressed the test button on the battery and get no lights at all.

I have metered the ps cable and it shows 234v (uk voltage) so it looks like mains plug to ps supply is ok. When I test the power plug which goes into the back of the machine I cannot get any sort of reading. Now it maybe that I am testing it incorrectly so if someone could tell me the right way I would appreciate it.

Should it be that the ps turns out to be fine would it really be worth the money to get someone (apple tech) to look at the G4 Titanium or would I be better off just junking it.