/usr/local

Reaction score
Hello Mac Users,

I am currently investigating whether or not I should do the switch from pc to mac, for development and design purposes, I have borrowed a MacBook pro running OS X 10.4 operating system, and i want to install Ruby, Rails, Mysql..etc

But when i try to locat a .bash_login file within /usr/local directory, the terminal is telling me "There is no such directory"

As I am a complete Mac newbie, I have no idea what do and have tried to find the answer by searching google but to no avail.

If someone could please assist me in this query I may just join the other side soon! ;P

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4GHz C2D 2GB RAM 250GB HDD Mac OS X-10.5.8, Apple iPod nano 8GB Black
In Mac,

there will not be anything in /usr/local (unless you create something over there or install something, otherwise there are some programs, which create /usr/local and installs its binaries and eventually export /usr/local to its path).

You can find your .bash_login file in your home directory (if not, then you have to create one).

Regarding ruby rails, I installed after creating a /usr/local directory and then installed and exported the path.

I have no idea about mysql in Mac yet. By the way, I am using, 10.5.7 (leopard), but I believe things should not be much different in 10.4.

I would welcome you to post you experiences to share the community.

Good luck

OP
O
Reaction score
Is the home directory /users? and to create a .bash_login file do i use a text editor?

Sorry for the noobie questions, I feel like I am in another country which speaks another language.

OP
O
Reaction score
I have found the /usr directory by typing in terminal to unhide hidden files in finder, there is no local folder but it will not allow me to create a folder as is read only.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4GHz C2D 2GB RAM 250GB HDD Mac OS X-10.5.8, Apple iPod nano 8GB Black
/Users is not you home directory,