Can Macs get spyware, viruses, etc?

Reaction score
While searching for a recipe on my Mac I came across this really sketchy website. It was a website and it was trying to pretend I was downloading something. Then a popup screen said that the file is infected and that I need to download their anti virus program to get rid of it. And to download the anti virus from the website , I had to press Okay. I just exited out of the window without pressing anything. With that, I am a little worried that maybe I have a virus or maybe a spyware installed on the computer. (Even though I did not press anything) Im pretty new with Macs so I know if I was still on Windows I would be crapping my pants.

I was reading around online and heard that the only way to get a virus or spyware is that I need to install it. I heard that the password protection on the Mac OS prevents random programs trying to install onto your computer without you knowing. (Password protection thing I am talking about is how you have to type in your password when you want to install downloaded items off the internet...dont really know the exact name of it)

Can anyone clarify or give me some type of advice on what to do? Im a little worried

I scanned my computer with ClamXav (heard it was good for finding stuff on the Mac) and it found a fakealert cache in my Firefox directory. (it is probably the fakealert from what I was describing earlier. )

I then cleared my cache, cookies, etc. in my firefox and re-scanned my computer with ClamXav and now it says it did not find any harmful stuff on my computer. (Im assuming that when I cleared my cache,cookies, etc. with firefox, it got rid of that fakealert garbage)

Im a little worried on what I should do next. Do you think im safe? Or should I buy some anti virus software or is there any good software out there that I can download? Please help. Thanks.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs