Recording through Toneport with GarageBand?

Reaction score
Hello,

I've only have my new MacBook Pro for 1 day, so I'm still getting used to things. I'm a guitarist, and I'd like to start recording with GarageBand. However, I'm not exactly impressed with the sound quality of the amp models in GarageBand. I'd like to be able to use my Line 6 TonePort UX2 with Pod Farm to record. How can I do this through GB?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo | 1GB RAM | OS X 10.6.3 | 250GB External HD | 8GB iPod Touch 1st Gen 3.1.3
I'm not familiar with this model, but hopefully I can help. I use a G1X, but I'm sure that both these controllers share the input and output(headphones) sockets. I "sketched" a picture in Photoshop to illustrate my setup, and how I connect my controller to GarageBand without external software. The explanation is below the picture.

ILUSTRcopy.jpg

To connect the controller to the computer, you will need a 3.5mm female/6.35mm male adapter and a 3.5mm male/male cable. Plug the 6.35mm male jack into the output(headphones) socket of the controller. Next, plug one of the ends of your 3.5mm male/male cable into the 3.5mm female socket of the adapter. The other end of the cable goes into the Line Input socket on the MacBook (circle with two triangles facing each other).

Your guitar will be plugged into the controller as normal, the 6.35mm male/male cable into the guitar and the controller.

After getting the cables hooked up, you need to change the settings in GarageBand so you can record the sound from the controller in GarageBand. To do this, press ⌘+, to open GarageBand Prefs, then go to the "Audio/MIDI" tab.

The following settings should look like this in order to pick up sound from the controller:

Audio Output: Built-in Output
Audio Input: Built-in Input

Optimize for: Minimum delay when playing instruments live