Dreamweaver/Flash newbie but experienced mac artworker

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2Gb Mhz, 2Gb RAM, imac 800mhz
As this is my first thread, firstly let me introduce myself and say a big hello to you all.

My name is Dan and I've been a mac artworker for over 18 years within the design/advertising/marketing industry for print and packaging in west Yorkshire, UK. I am by no means a novice when it comes to using a mac or the usual Adobe packages.

As a few people on here will have come to find over the past 12 months, and as a good old school artworker who has no aspirations to become a designer, the necessity to keep up with current trends and economic climate has forced me to now make the conscious decision to finally get some web application abilities and working knowledge 'strings added to my bow'. I know some of you are probably thinking quite rightly that I should have done this years ago, but having always been a permanent employee in various companies, it hasn't been necessary for me to pick learning DW and Flash up... until now.

As I have been using packages such as Photoshop, Indesign, Illustrator and Quark since they first came out, I know full well that learning what I need to know from the books such as the Lynda.com and Peach Pit Press series, although fantastic as they are, are going to teach me more-or-less 2/3 more than I ever need know to do the jobs which I likely to undertake on a freelance level, and in some parts, stuff I will probably never use on a commercial level.