Anti-Glare or Glossy?

N

Notopi

Alright I am new to Apple products and well I'm simply tired of having a PC and having to deal with all the Microsoft errors, so I'm going to buy a MacBook Pro but I can't decide on anti-glare technology or glossy screen? Which should I get? Here is a few things I will be doing with my new computer if it better helps with which display is better, I'll be using it for Photography, Maya 2009, etc...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP (2009) 2.26GHz, 160GB, 2GB
I can't directly speak from experience for the two looks, but I have to imagine the glossy is better. I have a matte finish screen now and it just seems kind of dull and lifeless. The glossy screens give more vibrant, lively images and colors. It may be somewhat more glaring, but you can always adjust the screen tilt and rotation to get rid of glare for the most part.

Reaction score
I've been told that while the glossy screen has brighter, more vivid, "popping" colors, they can be considered inaccurate compared to colors on a matte screen. If you are more concerned with how the end-product will look on another screen (or printed) you may want to look at the matte screens. The glare factor is also an issue, as people frequently working in bright lights or outside tend to complain about glare. That being said, I have a unibody MBP 17" and the glossy screen is absolutely gorgeous.

(Windows 7 also runs really well on my MBP.. tho Windows has always run well for me on anything)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB