New MBP, how do I type a Word document without having Word

Reaction score
I made the switch to a MBP and all is well apart from one issue.

Here is the problem, I have a essay I need to type then print on my MBP as I would of done previously in Word on my old PC. I did not get the Office applications when I purchased my laptop

As I am a complete newbie to the world of Apple (but would now never look back ;P I have no idea how or if I have an application I can use to finish my essay then print it off.

As this is due in tomorrow:Angry: and im now getting desperate is there any applications in the Mac OS X software that I can use as Word or notepad even???

Thanks for your help x

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
You can use OpenOffice, which comes highly recommended by others and myself. It's free and should get the job done for you (I should know, I went through 4 years of undergrad using it).

Note that by default, it doesn't save in the Office format and saves in the OpenDocument format. So, if you want to send this to someone else, you will have to explicitly choose the MS Office format when you save the document.

OP
A
Reaction score
You can use OpenOffice, which comes highly recommended by others and myself. It's free and should get the job done for you (I should know, I went through 4 years of undergrad using it).

Note that by default, it doesn't save in the Office format and saves in the OpenDocument format. So, if you want to send this to someone else, you will have to explicitly choose the MS Office format when you save the document.

Vansmith, you have saved my life, many thanks, now where is that red bull as Its going to be a long night :Blushing:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch alMacBook 2GHz C2D 4G DDR3, 1.25GHz G4 eMac
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Retina Macbook Pro 2014 model, 2.6 Ghz Core i5, 8 GB Ram and 256 GB SSD