a device file named trojan

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15.4" 2.4GHz C2D 2GB RAM 250GB HDD Mac OS X-10.5.8, Apple iPod nano 8GB Black
Hi all,

I noticed a device file as follows in /dev directory,

tty._trojan-1

Is it a a virus? If so, how could I get rid of this one?

Since I am new to Mac, I don't have much idea about this. Could anyone, shed some light on this?

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
Well if you are concerned it is a trojan (acquirable only if you are pirating software from certain places hosting it), then get yourself some AV software and clean it. There are quite a few freebies out there for OS X.

Reaction score
It's not fair to say you can only acquire a virus from pirating software.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
While this may be so, it is a very common way of getting them. In most cases when someone gets a trojan, it involves downloading pirated software.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs

That's not what I said. First off, trojans are not viruses. Secondly, in the case of the two known TROJANS that can affect OS X, they are disguised as legitimate software on piracy websites.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
New iMac 20" Leopard vs. 10.5.7
I say download iAnivirus my friend has it, and she recommends it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook, 2 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 1 GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM, OS X 10.4.11. iPod Classic & iPod Nano
That's not what I said. First off, trojans are not viruses. Secondly, in the case of the two known TROJANS that can affect OS X, they are disguised as legitimate software on piracy websites.