Mac Ports - Errors

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hello,

I am rather new to the MAC OS and am having some trouble with MacPorts.
I am running OS X 10.5 Leopard, I really hope that someone will be able to help me out guess I went in a little arrogant having used Linux.

I was trying to install some applications using some instructions on darwinports.com, for example wireshark required the following commands to install.

Code:
cd /opt/local/bin/portslocation/deport/wireshark
sudo port install wireshark

The problem is that first, the DIR above was not recognized and returned
Code:
-bash: cd: /opt/local/bin/portslocation/dports/: No such file or directory

I tried to download and install the utility again but it said that the version of mac ports that you are using is newer than the package that you are trying to install, but I did it anyways since I thought it might help, DIR being missing and all.

The above error was returned again. I skipped the CD /opt/local/bin/portslocation/dports/wireshark part and jumped straight to sudo port install wireshark this still did not work. sudo port -d selfupdate worked but with errors.

One more error is below, though I forget for which application.

Code:
Error: Target org.macports.configure returned: configure failure: shell command " cd "/opt/local/var/macports/build/_opt_local_var_macports_sources_rsync.macports.org_release_ports_textproc_expat/work/expat-2.0.1" && ./configure --prefix=/opt/local --mandir=/opt/local/share/man " returned error 77

Command output: checking build system type... i386-apple-darwin9.7.0

checking host system type... i386-apple-darwin9.7.0

checking for gcc... /usr/bin/gcc-4.0

checking for C compiler default output file name... configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables

See `config.log' for more details.