apple care screen replacement

Reaction score
My computer was sitting in my dorm room and someone stepped on my screen, and now it has point of impact cracks and pixel bleeding. The apple store does not want to replace the screen because it was accidental damage. I have had the computer for less than a year and it is still under warranty-- the warranty just doesn't cover accidental damage. Someone told me that buying apple care does cover accidental damage, though. My question is, if i purchase apple care right now would they be required to repair my screen?

The cost for apple care is $250 and they wanted $750 to repair my screen, so the cost difference is pretty big. I'm a college student and I'm planning on studying abroad in the fall so I'm really strapped for cash right now; I'm really desperate to save money right now so I can go, so any help on how to do so would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance for the help.

Reaction score
They will not replace your screen, if you have one of the white macbooks 13.3" screen they run u roughly around $120 off of ebay. Then you can try and replace yourself (I have done it and it is not hard just have to be careful) or you can take the laptop and the screen to one of your local computer stores to see how much they will charge you. Either way going the ebay way will save you a ton of money compared to getting apple to fix your screen.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch MacBook Pro
I am pretty sure AppleCare would not cover your screen if someone stepped on it. My car warranty does not cover someone ramming into me at a stoplight either. I know what it is like to be strapped for cash and going to school, but that doesn't mean much to Apple (and it shouldn't).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Too many...
I'm just wondering why you don't make ther person who broke it pay for it? If this happened to mine, I would shove their head up their rear!! lol!!!!

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs