Accidentally deleted /bin/sh

Reaction score
Hi folks!

First of all I'd like to say that this is my first post on mac-forums and that I am new to the mac world. I must say I'm really delighted with Mac OS!

I've played around a bit with Linux before using Mac OS, so I was scripting a shell script and I wanted to make it executable everywhere. While doing so, I accidentally deleted the /bin/sh :Shouting: ... I managed to replace my original sh with another from a friend with a similar macbook but it is a bit slower then my previous one...

My question: Is it possible to re-compile another sh that suits my machine?

Thank you very much for your time!

Best,
~tix

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
I would just delete your friends, then reinstall os x onto your system over your current install.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookAir5,2:10.13.6-iMac18,3:10.13.6-iPhone9,3:11.4.1
Restore it from the backup of /bin/sh you must have made before doing this. No worries.

OP
T
Reaction score
@PowerBookG4: That's a very drastic solution :| I hope I can find an easiest solution

@XJ-linux: I didn't do any backup at all.. Of course after that I started using the Time Machine - just in case I mess up again :eek:

Anyone got another solution?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch alMacBook 2GHz C2D 4G DDR3, 1.25GHz G4 eMac
*face palm*

Doh!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I've played around a bit with Linux before using Mac OS, so I was scripting a shell script and I wanted to make it executable everywhere. While doing so, I accidentally deleted the /bin/sh ... I managed to replace my original sh with another from a friend with a similar macbook but it is a bit slower then my previous one...

My question: Is it possible to re-compile another sh that suits my machine?