Used Mac notebook suggestions for Iphone development

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am anticipating getting into Mac development for the Iphone and was wandering what a good notebook would be for this task. I have been programming for over 20 years and would like to learn Objective C.

I am looking to spend between $500 and $1000 and obviously need whatever minimum configuration is necessary to accomplish the above described task. The only other thing I want is a screen 15 inches or larger.

Obviously I am open to a used Mac and my expectations are that is what I will end up with using my current parameters.

Thanks in advance. Any suggestions outside of the box are welcome.

I look forward to learning the Mac way!,

Steve

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
ON the apple site there is the refurb store, there is the white MacBook on there for $849, but keep your eye on the site and a 2009 white Macbook may appear (better graphics card)

Refurbished Mac - Apple Store (U.S.)

With the change you could buy and external monitor if you haven't already got one

Acer V223WBD Black 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor Monitor Overview - PC World

Otherwise trawl ebay and other sites for nearly new MacBooks and Macbook Pros, but use the Apple refurb store as a benchmark to see if you are getting a bargain

Reaction score
I agree with the above poster, you wont need anything highly intensive to run the SDK but it would be better running it on the intel platform.

If you want to spend the extra $99 over your budget I would get this.

Refurbished MacBook 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - Aluminum - Apple Store (U.S.)

Much better screen then the white macbook and nicer case. Better graphics, more ram and the faster DDR3 ram. I know that may not matter but in the long run its more up to date then the white macbook and will last you longer since its basically the current macbook standards.

OP
K
Reaction score