iPhoto Image Resize and File Size

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Retina Macbook Pro 2014 model, 2.6 Ghz Core i5, 8 GB Ram and 256 GB SSD
Hello everyone,

I got a macbook almost a week ago. I am totally new to a mac and I am just loving it, however, there is one thing about which I have no clue and I was wondering if you could help me out.

Whenever I import photos from my camera since they are in a huge size (dimension wise as well as memory wise), I used to convert them in a lesser dimension size and the pictures used to be around 2-3 MB but when I used to change their sizes, they used to become like just a few KB. How do I do that in this since this way a lot of disk space used to be saved and the quality of the pics remained quite good as well. Can anyone tell me how do we do that in iPhoto or is there any other software to do that?

Reaction score
IPhoto won't resize like you want, so you will have to do it before you import your photos into iPhoto. I keep a folder on my desktop call "New Pictures" that all my photos from the camera go into. From there you can do what ever you need before importing to iPhoto. The first thing I do is rename the new photos, but you can resize from there if you want to, I just like my photos kept just as they came off the camera. Once you have them in a folder, just drag the folder to the Dock and drop on "Preview". Preview will the open up and show all the photos you just dropped on it in a side bar. Next select all the photos in the side bar by typing ( command + a). This will hightlight all the photos in the sidebar. Next got to the "Tools" menu in Preview and click on "Adjust Size". After you set up the size you want, click OK then you use "Save All" in the "File" menu. I think I would test out the size on some copys before using "Save All" for the first time as it will over write all the photos in that folder.

OP
M
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs