bad hard drive

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
IMAC 20" 2.4ghz core 2, 4gb, 1T
I am very new to macs and could really use some help. After much research, I have come to the conclusion that my imac ('07 or '08) has had a hard drive failure. I have tried all of the tricks and still nothing, won't start up. It also has the start up disc stuck inside (one of the fixes that didn't work) No warranty. I am very comfortable replacing the HD myself, but it is all the other stuff I need help with.

First, which hard drive to buy? I might as well get a big one (750g or 1t) and I want it to last more than 2 yrs. Which brand, size, speed, etc, is compatible w/imacs? Reliability is key.

Second, after I replace the HD, how do I get the start up disc out? Or do I even need to? How do I get my OS on this new HD? How do I get all of my stuff off my external HD? I used time machine but don't really understand how it works.

Sorry I am so ignorant. I am very good at the electronics stuff, but clueless on the making-everything-work-again part. Thanks in advance for your time and help.

Brenda

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
*27" imac C2D 3.0/1TB/16GB**Mac Pro Octo 2.8/4x1TB/16GB**Mac Pro Quad 2.66/2x1TB/8GB**iPhone 4*
I am very new to macs and could really use some help. After much research, I have come to the conclusion that my imac ('07 or '08) has had a hard drive failure. I have tried all of the tricks and still nothing, won't start up. It also has the start up disc stuck inside (one of the fixes that didn't work) No warranty. I am very comfortable replacing the HD myself, but it is all the other stuff I need help with.

First, which hard drive to buy? I might as well get a big one (750g or 1t) and I want it to last more than 2 yrs. Which brand, size, speed, etc, is compatible w/imacs? Reliability is key.