Problems installing Windows via BootCamp

Reaction score
So I used Boot Camp Utility (followed ALL of the instructions the right way) to partition my mac hard drive 40gb for windows, and the rest for mac. I put in the vista cd, told bootcamp to start the installation, and it REBOOTED!!! I was happy that I was going to dual boot vista and os x leopard. So, i told it to start the installation on my bootcamp partition. It told me I had to reformat, so I figured that it was like an HFS Partition or something (i'm new to mac) I formatted it for NTFS, and hit the install button. It copied the windows files, then started to extract normal files, was stuck at 0% until it gave me Error 8007045D. It told me I needed other files, however the whole one and only DVD was there! I entered the activation code correctly, What's wrong? Is it a mac or a windows problem? I also had an issue with not being able to boot to os x but i fixed that so no problem there.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What kind of Vista DVD are you trying to install with? You can only install a MS boxed copy of Vista (full not upgrade) or an OEM system builders full install of Vista. No recovery or restore disks, or OEM branded install disks will work - such as a Sony, HP, Toshiba, etc. branded OEM install Vista DVD.

Regards.

OP
I
Reaction score
It's OEM.

The DVD is OEM. I bought it for my machine that I built however that computer I am converting to fully-Ubuntu. Since I have a license to use, I figured I'd try. And yes, it is OEM.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I looked up that error code and got mixed results. Sometimes it means "a device I/O error", other times it means "target machine refused connection", and so on. Not sure exactly what it's telling you.... :(