Lost Disk Space?

Reaction score
Hello to everyone from a 1st time poster.

I've just started using a old iMac at home running OS X 10.4 and I have to say that I'm puzzled as to where my disk space has gone.
I'm new to Macs so please bear with me on this one ...

After trying to upload some video I discovered that my filesystem /dev/disk0s3 mounted on route is very close to being full (98% full) having used (apparently) 111Gb or a 114 Gb hard drive, this is also reflected if I do a df -g from a terminal window.

But if I drill into / and do a ls -l (a ls -al indicates just over 10000 files) I see a total of 9746 files of which only 25 or so are listed, the biggest being mach_kernel (4Mb). Anyway, however I look at the files and directories I can't get it to total anywhere near 111Gb, more like 40Gb. This has been confirmed after I ran both Disk Inventory X and Omnisweeper, both of which showed a total used disk space of 40Gb.

So my question is where and how to I find out where the other 74Gb has "gone". The attached screenshot shows a terminal window indicating the near full / and high level displays with Disk Inventory X.

Many thanks for your time reading this, I'm sure it's something simple!

TB.

Picture 2.png

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
It looks like you've checked everywhere EXCEPT within your various folder, and most suspect /users/YOURUSERNAME folder .

doing a ls -al on / is misleading, as it won't report the size of the contents WITHIN a subdirectory - all of those entries that start with a d (where it shows for example drwxr-xr-x like for System) - those are directories. Your system folder is DEFINITELY not 136 bytes big. And it looks like in your screen cap of the inventory, you're only looking at startup folders and apps, but not your actual personal home folder.