RAM type for Mac mini question

Reaction score
Greetings!

I have finally decided I want to experiment with the mac world! Like most people, I am going to see how I like a mac using a Mac mini. However, I am a broke college student so I am attempting to circumvent all unnecessary expenses. I am going to purchase a Mac Mini with the minimum available specifications, then upgrade it myself. I am very confident I am skilled enough to do so and I have read a few tutorials on how it's done. Now on to my question....

Will any RAM work as long as it is DDR3 1066 SO-DIMM? It used to be, as far as I know, that Apple was pretty proprietary with their hardware. Is that still the case? I also plan on putting a 7200 RPM HDD in there as well, but I am fairly certain that that should be interchangeable.

Here is the exact link to the memory I am planning on buying.

]Newegg.com - Suggested Products

It should also run duel channel, right?

Also, I will be using this with a KVM switch. The DVI KVM switches break the wallet compared to VGA KVM switches. So, I have decided to buy a VGA KVM switch. What concerns me is the mini DVI port on the mini. I have a DVI to VGA adapter but that would mean it would be setup as follows:

Mini DVI to DVI adapter (comes with mini) -> DVI to VGA adapter (have one laying around from my video card purchase last winter) -> KVM Switch -> Monitor.
Will I have any problems with 2 adapters + KVM switch on there?

Is there any advice you can give to me about possibly switching to mac? Any advice about the mini or facts I may have over looked?

I appreciate all your time in answering my questions!!
Thank you!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
That Crucial Ram from Newegg should work fine. Apple has not been that demanding since the switch to Intel. Not in my experience anyway. Just get RAM with the same specs and it should work.

pigoo3