Small Business Point of Sale (POS) software question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I'm a small business owner (retail) looking for current mac-based point of sale software recommendations. I am in need of something that 1) scans barcodes, 2) has reporting capabilities, 3) capability for data export for business/trend analysis and accounting purposes and lastly 4) can record customer data and connect specific customers with invoices.

I actually opened my store last year and had gone with a mac-based SAAS point of sale solution only to learn once I opened up that a web-based point of sale solution isn't right for me (the lag experienced was painful even with a business-class high speed broadband connection - in my business I need invoices to ring up quickly, and for my customers not to get hung up in line while I wait for my receipt to start printing and my drawer to pop). Additionally, the software company I went with also made numerous haphazard and forced server-based application upgrades throughout the year which caused significant problems to my retail store operations (problems which then revealed how inadequate their customer support processes were as I went days to months without being able to process credit cards, print barcode labels, have sales taxes charged correctly, unable to export any data from my system in anything other than PDF, etc). My 12 month contract is finally coming to a close so I am searching for something new to use.

The whole situation has just killed my trust in other potential solutions I've found. I simply don't want to, nor can I afford to make another mistake of this magnitude again (the Saas solution company is today still highlighted at the Apple Retail website, but because I am still using their system while searching for another I hesitate to mention their name.)