Trying to install 2nd Hard Drive

Reaction score
OK. I've been fooling around with HDs for about seven years now. I know about the pins and the little plastic nubs and the different arrangements and how sometimes things are supposed to work and sometimes you just have to make stuff up until it does. Mostly I use them as external storage. I've got HDs that work with PCs but not with macs, i've got HDs that work with macs but not PCs. I've got no idea what the diff is or if i'm just a moron.

This is my first time trying to hook up a second HD to my MAC. It's a G4 tower, 450 mghz, 512 ram, I believe AGP, running Panther. The HD isn't the original, but rather one I salvaged from a fried HP. 40 gigs. It didn't work at first, but bored and testing a hunch, I formatted and formatted and formatted it again and again, and finally, it did work. Hooray. Now that same HP came with a second drive, 80 gigs, which sure would make my life a good deal more pleasant. However, all attempts to access it have failed. When I hook it up external with cable, it simply won't find it. And when I hook it up to the inner flat cable of the machine as a 2nd slave drive, the machine simply cycles forever on the gray apple, or once, it even put up a big "No" symbol. That was less than friendly.

The drive is a Seagate. 80gb. The pin config (not the cable connect, but the one between that and the power connect) isn't like i've seen before. 8 pins, four over four.

Is there anything I can do with this, or is it scrap?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
How do you have the drives jumpered? I have had the best luck with Cable Select on both drives instead of Master on one and Slave on the other in some older Power Macs I have worked with. Do you know the jumper settings? They should be on the label but if not, is there a model on the 80GB Seagate?