Machine for RAW Photography + HD Video

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro '08 Xeon 8 Cores @ 2.8Ghz / 8Gb RAM - Leopard 10.5.7
hi all,

i'm a newbie to the forum whose looking to buy a Mac for the first time; i've simply given up on vista.

i'm a UK-based portrait/wedding photographer who will also soon be doing some video work. i can see myself getting more into video over time.

i've searched other threads which have been very helpful but feel i still need more specific guidance. my needs/situation can be summed up as follows:

- i will be mostly retouching and batch-processing RAW files (via Lightroom and PS) which will be 20-40 MB in size.

- i will also want to edit 1080 HD video - mostly clips which will be 15 mins max in size (via Final Cut or Premiere Pro).

- i will be using this machine with one monitor (already have monitor) but would like the option to potentially add a 2nd down the line.

- i've disregarded the iMac because i don't want/need the screen and it seems upgradeability is limited and general performance may not be up to par.

- would a quad-core be enough or do i really need a 8-core? i want very good performance
but don't want to pay through the teeth needlessly for anything which will be overkill.

- that said, i still want to be able to add lots of RAM and generally be able to upgrade; i don't fancy splashing out on a new box any time soon.

- i already have a WD 2TB My Mirror ext. HD set to RAID 1 (7200 rpm). it is USB connection only and i would like to use this in the future.

- i need advice as to which is the best route re: uk 2nd hand machines; apple-store's refurbs seem pricey. ebay any good? any other route?

- that said, i don't mind waiting 1-3 months if it means a better, cheaper machine will turn up brand new at a very good price.

many thanks for even just reading my ramblings :D

jupesingh

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Hi! Welcome to the forums!