Upgraded 1 gig on mini - pics posted

E

EvoMac

Well as some of you may have read here, I am brand new to mac's... and to get my feet wet I decided to get a 1.4 mac mini (price is right for a test machine). Anyhow I was very happy with the performance of the computer given the price and what it is (I am a IT professional btw), however like how I was with PC's I am always looking for more. So I purchased a 1 gig stick of RAM... with a Heatshield. After looking at others people's pictures / articles I was a little uneasy about fitment since it is a pretty tight space.

Well it fit in perfect and now the performance (for a low end pricepoint) is amazing. The difference between 256 and 1 gig is astronomical. The one application that I use very frequently MS Entourage took 32 seconds to completly load up with 256 ram, with 1 gig... took a little UNDER 7 SECONDS.

For all those first time mac users like myself who questioned apple or the mini in specific, spring the $180 for the 1 gig upgrade and any of your doubts will soon be erased. The only problem now that I have is I was going to build a new PC with high end equip for about 1400 (I have a side IT business so I get parts at wholesale) - now the thoughts of that are gone - and my eyes are set on the watercooled dual 2.5... gonna have to take the fiance out on the town and then pop the question there to get another :mac:

342%3C3%3C8323232%7Ffp54%3Dot%3E232%3B%3D594%3D5%3B%3A%3DXROQDF%3E2323785768%3A9%3Aot1lsi

Ok so taking screenshots might be the one unintuitive thing about OS X

342%3C3%3C8323232%7Ffp4%3Enu%3D323%3A%3E4%3A3%3E4%3C9%3EWSNRCG%3D3232876677%3B94nu0mrj

Heres what the memory with the heat shield looks like... fits perfectly

342%3C3%3C8323232%7Ffp63%3Dot%3E232%3B%3D594%3D5%3B%3A%3DXROQDF%3E2323785768%3A%3A7ot1lsi

I would highly recomend using a plastic putty knife, left no marks on the Mini

342%3C3%3C8323232%7Ffp45%3Dot%3E232%3B%3D594%3D5%3B%3A%3DXROQDF%3E232378576%3C6%3C3ot1lsi