Unprotected Wireless Networks?

V

Verrminator

i'm new to the wireless thing. i am getting an iBook and have a few questions.

1)if you find an open network is it illegal to use it? not for hacking, just everyday use.

2)can't they see what your doing if they run a sniffer?

OP
M

meltbanana314

1. nope

2. yep, if they use a network intrusion system like Ethereal, they can track everything you do. Most people who leave unsecured wireless networks aren't savvy enough to run an NIS, though.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
Well, I wouldn't say it's legal...that's very questionable at this point and hasn't really been tested in court and may depend on local jurisdiction.

Regardless of legal or not, unless they're giving it away for free, it's not necessarily morally right to do ;)

But don't just assume it's legal...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" iBook G3 900/640/40 _ _ Power Macintosh G3 All-In-One 315/768/20 _ _ 20 GB iPod
schweb said:
Regardless of legal or not, unless they're giving it away for free, it's not necessarily morally right to do ;)

I agree. I have neighbors with a wireless network, and they don't appear to be aware that their signal is available in my house, or that they should probably encrypt / password-protect it. I could very easily join the network with my iBook and utilize their internet connection, but I would never do that.