New mini owner having a couple browser issues

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook (Black), 2.0 GHz Core Duo, 512MB, 80GB, Superdrive
I got my mini a week ago - first Mac I've ever owned so I'm new to all this. I've been lurking here for a while and this seemed like the best place to see if anyone can help me out.

The first issue I've noticed is that on all of my browsers (Safari, IE, Firefox) if a page is loading - or there are animations on a page that's already loading - and I use the mouse to drag the scroll bar down the page everything stops. If the page is loading it stops loading until I release the mouse, or the animations freeze until I release the mouse. Again - this is in all browsers. Is this normal? It doesn't happen if I hit the down arrow and scroll that way.

The bigger problem I've just run into the last couple of days is all of my browsers "unexpectedly" quitting on me quite often. Sometimes they'll all seem to work fine for a while after a reboot but all of a sudden I'll experience the problem.

Thanks ahead of time for any advice - extremely happy and excited about joining the Mac community for the first time.

Reaction score
I have the same issue with the page stopping loading if you are scrolling, it is normal, I never really saw it as a problem, just different.

I have never had my browsers just quit, does it just stop loading webpages or does it crash? It might be a network issues.

T

Tiranis

It prevents from lagging on slower hardware... ;) I believe that this is actually much better than if it plays when you scroll.

Hmm, do all of the browsers quit at the same time? Does it affect even Safari? What page are you looking at when this happens? There are some pages that are able to shoot down Safari, usually when they use some bad JScript or something similar... :-/

OP
B
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs