WPA and WEP problem

Reaction score
Hey there, i've only just become a member here so i'm very new to using this forum. Hopefully someone can help me with a huge problem i'm having when trying to access the internet at my girlfriends. I've set up both her laptop and her Mums laptop and they work fine on the wireless network (PCS), however when i try to connect my MBP it asks for a WPA password?

As far as i know there is not a WPA password and for both the other PC's the WEP key worked?

Absolutely stumped on what to do, i'm sure it's something really simple but have tried all sorts of methods the past few days without any luck.

What can i do to get my mac onto the network!?

Thankyou in advance for any replies, also apologies if this topic has been covered in a thread on here already, i have searched but can't seem to find anything?

If any one had a link to a similar topic i would appreciate it too!

:D

Thanks, Kris.

Reaction score
WPA WEP PC/Mac Problem

You should try, via airport menu in "Menu Bar" conect to an other network, In the field type in the SSID of the network, select type of encription: WEP

Watch out there some issues with aiport and other routers, they dont usually andle the password the same way, Usually you put a :$ caracter before the password or in some cases, I dont remember if its:" : " or " # ".

Thats your problem for sure I run into the same one all the time.

Note: If it doesnt work out, Google around the problem of the $ or : or #.

Good luck.

Reaction score
corection for my reply

the caraters are $ or : and maybe #

good luck

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
WEP is an old, dead security standard for wireless networks. It was replaced by WPA back about 5-6 years ago. WPA uses a much simpler scheme, instead of a key, it uses a passphrase which is far more flexible.